Homemade Cranberry Scones

Today I spent the morning doing what I love…cooking & baking. I whirled around our kitchen as fast as I could (without making too much of a mess & trying to keep the bottle in the baby’s mouth while stirring and adding ingredients) and while  my son was in preschool I had put together 3 meals for the week, 4 servings of pizza crust and a pan of scones (okay, I was lazy and instead of making individual scones, I used an 11×13 inch pan!). I was thrilled, especially because this meant a few nights freed up of the “what in the world am I going to make for dinner” dilemma and the mad dash to get something on the table that appeals to all the diverse tastes in the family before 8 pm. More than that, though, was the pure pleasure of being in the kitchen (oh, my kitchen time…yeah!) I am trying to focus on more of my culinary skills because I want to fill my family’s tummies with more nutritious fare and give the ‘ol pocket-book a much-needed break on the eating out scene. It’s funny/odd that I seem to have to focus my meal planning and cooking/meal prep. when I truly do love to cook! Not sure what that’s about, but anyhow, since my Grandma was coming this afternoon to sit with the kids, there really should be a sweet little treat to fuel all of their playing. What can I make without eggs and much butter? (Time to shop people!) Scones! I first had these at a tea party in middle school. A dear friend of mine has a passion for putting on teas for woman to bring a little love and encouragement their way, and a chance to do something purely and whimsically feminine! These scones are soooo moist, never dried out and blah. The cream adds such a depth to the flavor and texture as well. Try lots of combinations of dried fruits, extracts, icing or glaze is also great on top, lemon or orange zest is fantastic etc… You can substitute milk for the cream for a lighter version with slightly different texture. To your hearts content, enjoy!

Cranberry Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

1 Tbs.  baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 cup dried cranberries

1. Combine the dry ingredients

2. Cut in the cold butter with pastry cutter or two forks until flour is in small pieces the size of peas.

3. Add whipping cream, stir until just moistened.

4. Stir in cranberries.

5. Turn out on lightly floured surface and knead a few times until well combined.

6. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, spray baking pan with nonstick spray.

7. Can roll out dough with floured rolling-pin & cut into wedges or shapes with cookie cutters or make rounds with your hands.

8. Bake for 15-20 mins. or until just lightly golden.

Serve with Devonshire Cream & Preserves (Raspberry is particularly yummy!)

Devonshire Cream

1 cup heavy whipping cream

3 Tbs confectioners sugar

1/2 cup sour cream

1. Whip cream until soft peaks form/semi set.

2. Add confectioners sugar and whip until set.

3. Fold in sour cream.

4. Refrigerate leftovers.

Leave a Reply

