Cheater Gourmet Pancakes

Tonight was a tremendous undertaking with bath-time, getting baby girl to bed, practicing the alphabet & reading with my son. So, by the time I got to dinner, my choices were limited by a dwindling grocery supply and mental & emotional exhaustion! Pancakes! Yes, pancakes sounded good, but something a little more than the ‘ol stand-by breakfast fare. I looked around the kitchen and grabbed a few items that sounded like they’d meld together fairly well & maybe prove that I had actually put a little thought into my dinner selection tonight. I am quite surprised that for a cheaters version of a “gourmet” pancake (okay, it’s gourmet by my standards, remember I’m a newbie foodie!) the flavors and textures were  luscious and incredibly rich.

Coconut-Orange Walnut Pancakes

Boxed pancake mix (follow package instructions) Knotts is a very good mix!

Add-about 1/4 cup orange juice to prepared mix

Heat griddle to medium heat, spoon 1/4 cup batter in griddle when hot

Add a handful of toasted walnuts, fingerfuls of flaked coconut, and grated orange zest to each uncooked side of pancake.

Turn pancake when bubbles appear

Cook second side to personal taste (I love the texture slightly undercooked)

Serve with soft butter and warm maple syrup-orange extract would be tasty

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

