Elusive Kitchen Time

Good morning, up and at ’em again. Baby girl still struggling with a cough and comforted only by being snug in my arms. Going into work early today, yeah, and I’d really like to make something for my Mom to munch on while she babysits. What to make…baby crying again….need to make Valentine’s with my son who’s been asking this morning for help. Seems like there’s never enough time for my kitchen time. I so dislike that feeling of exhaustion that were it for this I would be creating something yummy. While I’m tending to the children and household chores, often I am thinking on some recipe that recently found its way before my eyes. Is that quirky? Thinking of how beautiful softened pale unsalted butter looks as it’s creamed carefully with crystally white grains of sugar. How perfectly eggs incorporate into the fluffy creamed butter mixture. Add a splash of real Mexican vanilla for a sweet aroma and finished taste. Then there’s the “magic” of baking powder and baking soda! The proportions lend such different results in baked goods. Trust me, I’ve had enough failed muffins to know! Vinegar is also quite a unique ingredient in baking. Sometime I will share my family’s recipe for “Three Hole Chocolate Cake” and you will see a science experiment before your eyes! One of the best pieces of advice I have ever heard, food wise, is to always purchase the absolute best quality ingredients you can afford. Such as in baking chocolates. The difference truly lies in quality depending on how this ingredient is used in a recipe. It is so wonderful to me that such simple ingredients can together make such amazing deliciousness! This is why baking especially appeals to me because it’s guided but subjective. There’s room for adaptations and yet there are certain rules to the science of baking that guide you. I am trying to retain these guidelines in my own experimenting. I have to admit, there are lots of flops that come out of my kitchen! As frustrating as a disappointing result can be, it is still energizing and satisfying to pour myself into a recipe. Such joy when my family really enjoys something my hands have put together and by the grace of God it actually turned out appealing! Yes, I have lots of those moments. Sometimes I feel..wonder…what kind of foodie would I be if I really had the time to search, bake, cook, photograph, taste and write the way my heart desires? That question, that longing that stirs in my heart and mind all the time and lures me into the kitchen is what excites me to finish those odd mom-jobs during the day. My kitchen is waiting… Baby crying again…ah to wondering…

Leave a Reply

